aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/tools/perf/bench
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorIan Munsie <imunsie@au.ibm.com>2010-04-13 18:37:33 +1000
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>2010-04-14 11:26:44 +0200
commitc05556421742eb47f80301767653a4bcb19de9de (patch)
tree1e9c441a457acee41d2585e05692cc90c1d88be2 /tools/perf/bench
parent53e5b5c215ce8372250e227f2c9acf9892de8434 (diff)
downloadmrst-s0i3-test-c05556421742eb47f80301767653a4bcb19de9de.tar.gz
mrst-s0i3-test-c05556421742eb47f80301767653a4bcb19de9de.tar.xz
mrst-s0i3-test-c05556421742eb47f80301767653a4bcb19de9de.zip
perf: Fix endianness argument compatibility with OPT_BOOLEAN() and introduce OPT_INCR()
Parsing an option from the command line with OPT_BOOLEAN on a bool data type would not work on a big-endian machine due to the manner in which the boolean was being cast into an int and incremented. For example, running 'perf probe --list' on a PowerPC machine would fail to properly set the list_events bool and would therefore print out the usage information and terminate. This patch makes OPT_BOOLEAN work as expected with a bool datatype. For cases where the original OPT_BOOLEAN was intentionally being used to increment an int each time it was passed in on the command line, this patch introduces OPT_INCR with the old behaviour of OPT_BOOLEAN (the verbose variable is currently the only such example of this). I have reviewed every use of OPT_BOOLEAN to verify that a true C99 bool was passed. Where integers were used, I verified that they were only being used for boolean logic and changed them to bools to ensure that they would not be mistakenly used as ints. The major exception was the verbose variable which now uses OPT_INCR instead of OPT_BOOLEAN. Signed-off-by: Ian Munsie <imunsie@au.ibm.com> Acked-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: <stable@kernel.org> # NOTE: wont apply to .3[34].x cleanly, please backport Cc: Git development list <git@vger.kernel.org> Cc: Ian Munsie <imunsie@au1.ibm.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Hitoshi Mitake <mitake@dcl.info.waseda.ac.jp> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> Cc: Eric B Munson <ebmunson@us.ibm.com> Cc: Valdis.Kletnieks@vt.edu Cc: WANG Cong <amwang@redhat.com> Cc: Thiago Farina <tfransosi@gmail.com> Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@redhat.com> Cc: Xiao Guangrong <xiaoguangrong@cn.fujitsu.com> Cc: Jaswinder Singh Rajput <jaswinderrajput@gmail.com> Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com> Cc: OGAWA Hirofumi <hirofumi@mail.parknet.co.jp> Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de> Cc: Tom Zanussi <tzanussi@gmail.com> Cc: Anton Blanchard <anton@samba.org> Cc: John Kacur <jkacur@redhat.com> Cc: Li Zefan <lizf@cn.fujitsu.com> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> LKML-Reference: <1271147857-11604-1-git-send-email-imunsie@au.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Diffstat (limited to 'tools/perf/bench')
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/bench/mem-memcpy.c2
-rw-r--r--tools/perf/bench/sched-messaging.c4
2 files changed, 3 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/tools/perf/bench/mem-memcpy.c b/tools/perf/bench/mem-memcpy.c
index 52e646e3e87..38dae746514 100644
--- a/tools/perf/bench/mem-memcpy.c
+++ b/tools/perf/bench/mem-memcpy.c
@@ -23,7 +23,7 @@
static const char *length_str = "1MB";
static const char *routine = "default";
-static int use_clock = 0;
+static bool use_clock = false;
static int clock_fd;
static const struct option options[] = {
diff --git a/tools/perf/bench/sched-messaging.c b/tools/perf/bench/sched-messaging.c
index 81cee78181f..da1b2e9f01f 100644
--- a/tools/perf/bench/sched-messaging.c
+++ b/tools/perf/bench/sched-messaging.c
@@ -31,9 +31,9 @@
#define DATASIZE 100
-static int use_pipes = 0;
+static bool use_pipes = false;
static unsigned int loops = 100;
-static unsigned int thread_mode = 0;
+static bool thread_mode = false;
static unsigned int num_groups = 10;
struct sender_context {