aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/net
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorKoki Sanagi <sanagi.koki@jp.fujitsu.com>2010-08-23 18:46:12 +0900
committerFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>2010-09-07 17:51:53 +0200
commit07dc22e7295f25526f110d704655ff0ea7687420 (patch)
tree026b83a634d949d80cff48a91ecc38419bba8821 /net
parentcf66ba58b5cb8b1526e9dd2fb96ff8db048d4d44 (diff)
downloadmrst-s0i3-test-07dc22e7295f25526f110d704655ff0ea7687420.tar.gz
mrst-s0i3-test-07dc22e7295f25526f110d704655ff0ea7687420.tar.xz
mrst-s0i3-test-07dc22e7295f25526f110d704655ff0ea7687420.zip
skb: Add tracepoints to freeing skb
This patch adds tracepoint to consume_skb and add trace_kfree_skb before __kfree_skb in skb_free_datagram_locked and net_tx_action. Combinating with tracepoint on dev_hard_start_xmit, we can check how long it takes to free transmitted packets. And using it, we can calculate how many packets driver had at that time. It is useful when a drop of transmitted packet is a problem. sshd-6828 [000] 112689.258154: consume_skb: skbaddr=f2d99bb8 Signed-off-by: Koki Sanagi <sanagi.koki@jp.fujitsu.com> Acked-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net> Acked-by: Neil Horman <nhorman@tuxdriver.com> Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com> Cc: Kaneshige Kenji <kaneshige.kenji@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Izumo Taku <izumi.taku@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Kosaki Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Lai Jiangshan <laijs@cn.fujitsu.com> Cc: Scott Mcmillan <scott.a.mcmillan@intel.com> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com> LKML-Reference: <4C724364.50903@jp.fujitsu.com> Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Diffstat (limited to 'net')
-rw-r--r--net/core/datagram.c1
-rw-r--r--net/core/dev.c2
-rw-r--r--net/core/skbuff.c1
3 files changed, 4 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/net/core/datagram.c b/net/core/datagram.c
index 251997a9548..282806ba7a5 100644
--- a/net/core/datagram.c
+++ b/net/core/datagram.c
@@ -243,6 +243,7 @@ void skb_free_datagram_locked(struct sock *sk, struct sk_buff *skb)
unlock_sock_fast(sk, slow);
/* skb is now orphaned, can be freed outside of locked section */
+ trace_kfree_skb(skb, skb_free_datagram_locked);
__kfree_skb(skb);
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(skb_free_datagram_locked);
diff --git a/net/core/dev.c b/net/core/dev.c
index 5a4fbc7405e..2308cce4804 100644
--- a/net/core/dev.c
+++ b/net/core/dev.c
@@ -129,6 +129,7 @@
#include <linux/random.h>
#include <trace/events/napi.h>
#include <trace/events/net.h>
+#include <trace/events/skb.h>
#include <linux/pci.h>
#include "net-sysfs.h"
@@ -2576,6 +2577,7 @@ static void net_tx_action(struct softirq_action *h)
clist = clist->next;
WARN_ON(atomic_read(&skb->users));
+ trace_kfree_skb(skb, net_tx_action);
__kfree_skb(skb);
}
}
diff --git a/net/core/skbuff.c b/net/core/skbuff.c
index 3a2513f0d0c..12e61e351d0 100644
--- a/net/core/skbuff.c
+++ b/net/core/skbuff.c
@@ -466,6 +466,7 @@ void consume_skb(struct sk_buff *skb)
smp_rmb();
else if (likely(!atomic_dec_and_test(&skb->users)))
return;
+ trace_consume_skb(skb);
__kfree_skb(skb);
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(consume_skb);