aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/kernel/panic.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorNur Hussein <nurhussein@gmail.com>2008-04-29 00:58:39 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2008-04-29 08:05:59 -0700
commit95b570c9cef3b12356454c7112571b7e406b4b51 (patch)
treef4494412f9e3a02bce5b59a906ee9360a536191d /kernel/panic.c
parentbd3feb13e15a4859f629c9a076554e260c1d1397 (diff)
downloadmrst-s0i3-test-95b570c9cef3b12356454c7112571b7e406b4b51.tar.gz
mrst-s0i3-test-95b570c9cef3b12356454c7112571b7e406b4b51.tar.xz
mrst-s0i3-test-95b570c9cef3b12356454c7112571b7e406b4b51.zip
Taint kernel after WARN_ON(condition)
The kernel is sent to tainted within the warn_on_slowpath() function, and whenever a warning occurs the new taint flag 'W' is set. This is useful to know if a warning occurred before a BUG by preserving the warning as a flag in the taint state. This does not work on architectures where WARN_ON has its own definition. These archs are: 1. s390 2. superh 3. avr32 4. parisc The maintainers of these architectures have been added in the Cc: list in this email to alert them to the situation. The documentation in oops-tracing.txt has been updated to include the new flag. Signed-off-by: Nur Hussein <nurhussein@gmail.com> Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@infradead.org> Cc: "Randy.Dunlap" <rdunlap@xenotime.net> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl> Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'kernel/panic.c')
-rw-r--r--kernel/panic.c8
1 files changed, 6 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/kernel/panic.c b/kernel/panic.c
index 24af9f8bac9..425567f45b9 100644
--- a/kernel/panic.c
+++ b/kernel/panic.c
@@ -153,6 +153,8 @@ EXPORT_SYMBOL(panic);
* 'M' - System experienced a machine check exception.
* 'B' - System has hit bad_page.
* 'U' - Userspace-defined naughtiness.
+ * 'A' - ACPI table overridden.
+ * 'W' - Taint on warning.
*
* The string is overwritten by the next call to print_taint().
*/
@@ -161,7 +163,7 @@ const char *print_tainted(void)
{
static char buf[20];
if (tainted) {
- snprintf(buf, sizeof(buf), "Tainted: %c%c%c%c%c%c%c%c%c",
+ snprintf(buf, sizeof(buf), "Tainted: %c%c%c%c%c%c%c%c%c%c",
tainted & TAINT_PROPRIETARY_MODULE ? 'P' : 'G',
tainted & TAINT_FORCED_MODULE ? 'F' : ' ',
tainted & TAINT_UNSAFE_SMP ? 'S' : ' ',
@@ -170,7 +172,8 @@ const char *print_tainted(void)
tainted & TAINT_BAD_PAGE ? 'B' : ' ',
tainted & TAINT_USER ? 'U' : ' ',
tainted & TAINT_DIE ? 'D' : ' ',
- tainted & TAINT_OVERRIDDEN_ACPI_TABLE ? 'A' : ' ');
+ tainted & TAINT_OVERRIDDEN_ACPI_TABLE ? 'A' : ' ',
+ tainted & TAINT_WARN ? 'W' : ' ');
}
else
snprintf(buf, sizeof(buf), "Not tainted");
@@ -312,6 +315,7 @@ void warn_on_slowpath(const char *file, int line)
print_modules();
dump_stack();
print_oops_end_marker();
+ add_taint(TAINT_WARN);
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(warn_on_slowpath);
#endif