aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/init
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMike Travis <travis@sgi.com>2009-11-17 18:22:13 -0600
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>2009-11-26 10:18:42 +0100
commitfeae3203d711db0a9965300ee6d592257fdaae4f (patch)
tree747f1223ed4afb9dbb4c79ceff1d06cb4da61984 /init
parentba5ea951d0b5e5896180e21fe07f228d2b3b0e63 (diff)
downloadmrst-s0i3-test-feae3203d711db0a9965300ee6d592257fdaae4f.tar.gz
mrst-s0i3-test-feae3203d711db0a9965300ee6d592257fdaae4f.tar.xz
mrst-s0i3-test-feae3203d711db0a9965300ee6d592257fdaae4f.zip
timers, init: Limit the number of per cpu calibration bootup messages
Limit the number of per cpu calibration messages by only printing out results for the first cpu to boot. Also, don't print "CPUx is down" as this is expected, and we don't need 4096 reminders... ;-) Signed-off-by: Mike Travis <travis@sgi.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Roland Dreier <rdreier@cisco.com> Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@xenotime.net> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de> Cc: Yinghai Lu <yhlu.kernel@gmail.com> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org> Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au> Cc: Hidetoshi Seto <seto.hidetoshi@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Jack Steiner <steiner@sgi.com> Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com> LKML-Reference: <20091118002219.889552000@alcatraz.americas.sgi.com> Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Diffstat (limited to 'init')
-rw-r--r--init/calibrate.c24
1 files changed, 15 insertions, 9 deletions
diff --git a/init/calibrate.c b/init/calibrate.c
index a379c906119..6eb48e53d61 100644
--- a/init/calibrate.c
+++ b/init/calibrate.c
@@ -123,23 +123,26 @@ void __cpuinit calibrate_delay(void)
{
unsigned long ticks, loopbit;
int lps_precision = LPS_PREC;
+ static bool printed;
if (preset_lpj) {
loops_per_jiffy = preset_lpj;
- printk(KERN_INFO
- "Calibrating delay loop (skipped) preset value.. ");
- } else if ((smp_processor_id() == 0) && lpj_fine) {
+ if (!printed)
+ pr_info("Calibrating delay loop (skipped) "
+ "preset value.. ");
+ } else if ((!printed) && lpj_fine) {
loops_per_jiffy = lpj_fine;
- printk(KERN_INFO
- "Calibrating delay loop (skipped), "
+ pr_info("Calibrating delay loop (skipped), "
"value calculated using timer frequency.. ");
} else if ((loops_per_jiffy = calibrate_delay_direct()) != 0) {
- printk(KERN_INFO
- "Calibrating delay using timer specific routine.. ");
+ if (!printed)
+ pr_info("Calibrating delay using timer "
+ "specific routine.. ");
} else {
loops_per_jiffy = (1<<12);
- printk(KERN_INFO "Calibrating delay loop... ");
+ if (!printed)
+ pr_info("Calibrating delay loop... ");
while ((loops_per_jiffy <<= 1) != 0) {
/* wait for "start of" clock tick */
ticks = jiffies;
@@ -170,7 +173,10 @@ void __cpuinit calibrate_delay(void)
loops_per_jiffy &= ~loopbit;
}
}
- printk(KERN_CONT "%lu.%02lu BogoMIPS (lpj=%lu)\n",
+ if (!printed)
+ pr_cont("%lu.%02lu BogoMIPS (lpj=%lu)\n",
loops_per_jiffy/(500000/HZ),
(loops_per_jiffy/(5000/HZ)) % 100, loops_per_jiffy);
+
+ printed = true;
}