aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/init/main.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorBalbir Singh <balbir@linux.vnet.ibm.com>2008-04-29 01:00:16 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2008-04-29 08:06:10 -0700
commitcf475ad28ac35cc9ba612d67158f29b73b38b05d (patch)
tree2c7cd568d00357bd42643ea602884e731cc24f26 /init/main.c
parent29486df325e1fe6e1764afcb19e3370804c2b002 (diff)
downloadmrst-s0i3-test-cf475ad28ac35cc9ba612d67158f29b73b38b05d.tar.gz
mrst-s0i3-test-cf475ad28ac35cc9ba612d67158f29b73b38b05d.tar.xz
mrst-s0i3-test-cf475ad28ac35cc9ba612d67158f29b73b38b05d.zip
cgroups: add an owner to the mm_struct
Remove the mem_cgroup member from mm_struct and instead adds an owner. This approach was suggested by Paul Menage. The advantage of this approach is that, once the mm->owner is known, using the subsystem id, the cgroup can be determined. It also allows several control groups that are virtually grouped by mm_struct, to exist independent of the memory controller i.e., without adding mem_cgroup's for each controller, to mm_struct. A new config option CONFIG_MM_OWNER is added and the memory resource controller selects this config option. This patch also adds cgroup callbacks to notify subsystems when mm->owner changes. The mm_cgroup_changed callback is called with the task_lock() of the new task held and is called just prior to changing the mm->owner. I am indebted to Paul Menage for the several reviews of this patchset and helping me make it lighter and simpler. This patch was tested on a powerpc box, it was compiled with both the MM_OWNER config turned on and off. After the thread group leader exits, it's moved to init_css_state by cgroup_exit(), thus all future charges from runnings threads would be redirected to the init_css_set's subsystem. Signed-off-by: Balbir Singh <balbir@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: Pavel Emelianov <xemul@openvz.org> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hugh@veritas.com> Cc: Sudhir Kumar <skumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Cc: YAMAMOTO Takashi <yamamoto@valinux.co.jp> Cc: Hirokazu Takahashi <taka@valinux.co.jp> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>, Cc: Balbir Singh <balbir@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Acked-by: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Acked-by: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi> Reviewed-by: Paul Menage <menage@google.com> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@tv-sign.ru> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'init/main.c')
-rw-r--r--init/main.c1
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/init/main.c b/init/main.c
index 1116d2f40cc..c62c98f381f 100644
--- a/init/main.c
+++ b/init/main.c
@@ -559,6 +559,7 @@ asmlinkage void __init start_kernel(void)
printk(KERN_NOTICE);
printk(linux_banner);
setup_arch(&command_line);
+ mm_init_owner(&init_mm, &init_task);
setup_command_line(command_line);
unwind_setup();
setup_per_cpu_areas();