aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/init/do_mounts.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorLaurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@skynet.be>2009-01-06 14:40:40 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2009-01-06 15:59:11 -0800
commitf41ced8f108cc80f16509b907cd7ac93944459bc (patch)
treee2428887e43f26f373523be3d9ded4427a2c331f /init/do_mounts.c
parentbdbeed75b288443ea14208eafaac3941f385f2ae (diff)
downloadmrst-s0i3-test-f41ced8f108cc80f16509b907cd7ac93944459bc.tar.gz
mrst-s0i3-test-f41ced8f108cc80f16509b907cd7ac93944459bc.tar.xz
mrst-s0i3-test-f41ced8f108cc80f16509b907cd7ac93944459bc.zip
Check fops_get() return value
Several subsystem open handlers dereference the fops_get() return value without checking it for nullness. This opens a race condition between the open handler and module unloading. A module can be marked as being unloaded (MODULE_STATE_GOING) before its exit function is called and gets the chance to unregister the driver. During that window open handlers can still be called, and fops_get() will fail in try_module_get() and return a NULL pointer. This change checks the fops_get() return value and returns -ENODEV if NULL. Reported-by: Alan Jenkins <alan-jenkins@tuffmail.co.uk> Signed-off-by: Laurent Pinchart <laurent.pinchart@skynet.be> Acked-by: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk> Cc: Dave Airlie <airlied@linux.ie> Acked-by: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'init/do_mounts.c')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions