aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/include/asm-h8300
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorH. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>2008-02-07 00:15:57 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@woody.linux-foundation.org>2008-02-07 08:42:30 -0800
commit6e16d89bcd668a95eb22add24c02d80890232b66 (patch)
tree8d5fcab14edac7d36c67e8a57abb5025cfaa2c2d /include/asm-h8300
parented7b1889da256977574663689b598d88950bbd23 (diff)
downloadmrst-s0i3-test-6e16d89bcd668a95eb22add24c02d80890232b66.tar.gz
mrst-s0i3-test-6e16d89bcd668a95eb22add24c02d80890232b66.tar.xz
mrst-s0i3-test-6e16d89bcd668a95eb22add24c02d80890232b66.zip
Sanitize the type of struct user.u_ar0
struct user.u_ar0 is defined to contain a pointer offset on all architectures in which it is defined (all architectures which define an a.out format except SPARC.) However, it has a pointer type in the headers, which is pointless -- <asm/user.h> is not exported to userspace, and it just makes the code messy. Redefine the field as "unsigned long" (which is the same size as a pointer on all Linux architectures) and change the setting code to user offsetof() instead of hand-coded arithmetic. Cc: Linux Arch Mailing List <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org> Cc: Bryan Wu <bryan.wu@analog.com> Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net> Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru> Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk> Cc: Lennert Buytenhek <kernel@wantstofly.org> Cc: HÃ¥vard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com> Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org> Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com> Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org> Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'include/asm-h8300')
-rw-r--r--include/asm-h8300/user.h3
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/include/asm-h8300/user.h b/include/asm-h8300/user.h
index 6c64f99af3e..14a9e18950f 100644
--- a/include/asm-h8300/user.h
+++ b/include/asm-h8300/user.h
@@ -62,8 +62,7 @@ struct user{
esp register. */
long int signal; /* Signal that caused the core dump. */
int reserved; /* No longer used */
- struct user_regs_struct *u_ar0;
- /* Used by gdb to help find the values for */
+ unsigned long u_ar0; /* Used by gdb to help find the values for */
/* the registers. */
unsigned long magic; /* To uniquely identify a core file */
char u_comm[32]; /* User command that was responsible */