aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/include/asm-generic
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorLee Schermerhorn <lee.schermerhorn@hp.com>2010-05-26 14:45:00 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2010-05-27 09:12:57 -0700
commit7aac789885512388a66d47280d7e7777ffba1e59 (patch)
treeaf4ac98260268889a422dd264102d2f15d5c1983 /include/asm-generic
parent3bccd996276b108c138e8176793a26ecef54d573 (diff)
downloadmrst-s0i3-test-7aac789885512388a66d47280d7e7777ffba1e59.tar.gz
mrst-s0i3-test-7aac789885512388a66d47280d7e7777ffba1e59.tar.xz
mrst-s0i3-test-7aac789885512388a66d47280d7e7777ffba1e59.zip
numa: introduce numa_mem_id()- effective local memory node id
Introduce numa_mem_id(), based on generic percpu variable infrastructure to track "nearest node with memory" for archs that support memoryless nodes. Define API in <linux/topology.h> when CONFIG_HAVE_MEMORYLESS_NODES defined, else stubs. Architectures will define HAVE_MEMORYLESS_NODES if/when they support them. Archs can override definitions of: numa_mem_id() - returns node number of "local memory" node set_numa_mem() - initialize [this cpus'] per cpu variable 'numa_mem' cpu_to_mem() - return numa_mem for specified cpu; may be used as lvalue Generic initialization of 'numa_mem' occurs in __build_all_zonelists(). This will initialize the boot cpu at boot time, and all cpus on change of numa_zonelist_order, or when node or memory hot-plug requires zonelist rebuild. Archs that support memoryless nodes will need to initialize 'numa_mem' for secondary cpus as they're brought on-line. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix build] Signed-off-by: Lee Schermerhorn <lee.schermerhorn@hp.com> Signed-off-by: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Eric Whitney <eric.whitney@hp.com> Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi> Cc: <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'include/asm-generic')
-rw-r--r--include/asm-generic/topology.h3
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 0 deletions
diff --git a/include/asm-generic/topology.h b/include/asm-generic/topology.h
index 510df36dd5d..fd60700503c 100644
--- a/include/asm-generic/topology.h
+++ b/include/asm-generic/topology.h
@@ -34,6 +34,9 @@
#ifndef cpu_to_node
#define cpu_to_node(cpu) ((void)(cpu),0)
#endif
+#ifndef cpu_to_mem
+#define cpu_to_mem(cpu) ((void)(cpu),0)
+#endif
#ifndef parent_node
#define parent_node(node) ((void)(node),0)
#endif