aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/drivers/ieee1394
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>2010-02-17 10:57:05 -0800
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>2010-03-07 17:04:52 -0800
commit8e9394ce2412254ec69fd2a4f3e44a66eade2297 (patch)
tree355f25148b4ce3f5cfebeaf0939d71cb6beaf88b /drivers/ieee1394
parent62e877b893e6350c900d381f353aa62ed48dcc97 (diff)
downloadmrst-s0i3-test-8e9394ce2412254ec69fd2a4f3e44a66eade2297.tar.gz
mrst-s0i3-test-8e9394ce2412254ec69fd2a4f3e44a66eade2297.tar.xz
mrst-s0i3-test-8e9394ce2412254ec69fd2a4f3e44a66eade2297.zip
Driver core: create lock/unlock functions for struct device
In the future, we are going to be changing the lock type for struct device (once we get the lockdep infrastructure properly worked out) To make that changeover easier, and to possibly burry the lock in a different part of struct device, let's create some functions to lock and unlock a device so that no out-of-core code needs to be changed in the future. This patch creates the device_lock/unlock/trylock() functions, and converts all in-tree users to them. Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Jean Delvare <khali@linux-fr.org> Cc: Dave Young <hidave.darkstar@gmail.com> Cc: Ming Lei <tom.leiming@gmail.com> Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz> Cc: Phil Carmody <ext-phil.2.carmody@nokia.com> Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com> Cc: Cornelia Huck <cornelia.huck@de.ibm.com> Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl> Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz> Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com> Cc: Magnus Damm <damm@igel.co.jp> Cc: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu> Cc: Randy Dunlap <randy.dunlap@oracle.com> Cc: Stefan Richter <stefanr@s5r6.in-berlin.de> Cc: David Brownell <dbrownell@users.sourceforge.net> Cc: Vegard Nossum <vegard.nossum@gmail.com> Cc: Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@virtuousgeek.org> Cc: Alex Chiang <achiang@hp.com> Cc: Kenji Kaneshige <kaneshige.kenji@jp.fujitsu.com> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Andrew Patterson <andrew.patterson@hp.com> Cc: Yu Zhao <yu.zhao@intel.com> Cc: Dominik Brodowski <linux@dominikbrodowski.net> Cc: Samuel Ortiz <sameo@linux.intel.com> Cc: Wolfram Sang <w.sang@pengutronix.de> Cc: CHENG Renquan <rqcheng@smu.edu.sg> Cc: Oliver Neukum <oliver@neukum.org> Cc: Frans Pop <elendil@planet.nl> Cc: David Vrabel <david.vrabel@csr.com> Cc: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@vrfy.org> Cc: Sarah Sharp <sarah.a.sharp@linux.intel.com> Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Diffstat (limited to 'drivers/ieee1394')
-rw-r--r--drivers/ieee1394/nodemgr.c5
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/drivers/ieee1394/nodemgr.c b/drivers/ieee1394/nodemgr.c
index 5122b5a8aa2..18350213479 100644
--- a/drivers/ieee1394/nodemgr.c
+++ b/drivers/ieee1394/nodemgr.c
@@ -19,7 +19,6 @@
#include <linux/moduleparam.h>
#include <linux/mutex.h>
#include <linux/freezer.h>
-#include <linux/semaphore.h>
#include <asm/atomic.h>
#include "csr.h"
@@ -1397,9 +1396,9 @@ static int update_pdrv(struct device *dev, void *data)
pdrv = container_of(drv, struct hpsb_protocol_driver,
driver);
if (pdrv->update) {
- down(&ud->device.sem);
+ device_lock(&ud->device);
error = pdrv->update(ud);
- up(&ud->device.sem);
+ device_unlock(&ud->device);
}
if (error)
device_release_driver(&ud->device);