aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorHuang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>2019-06-28 12:07:18 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-06-29 16:43:45 +0800
commit1a5f439c7c02837d943e528d46501564d4226757 (patch)
tree050e4d16ffe8dfb351de624fbd5267aeff1e87a0
parent1bf4580e00a248a2c86269125390eb3648e1877c (diff)
downloadtip-1a5f439c7c02837d943e528d46501564d4226757.tar.gz
tip-1a5f439c7c02837d943e528d46501564d4226757.tar.xz
tip-1a5f439c7c02837d943e528d46501564d4226757.zip
mm, swap: fix THP swap out
0-Day test system reported some OOM regressions for several THP (Transparent Huge Page) swap test cases. These regressions are bisected to 6861428921b5 ("block: always define BIO_MAX_PAGES as 256"). In the commit, BIO_MAX_PAGES is set to 256 even when THP swap is enabled. So the bio_alloc(gfp_flags, 512) in get_swap_bio() may fail when swapping out THP. That causes the OOM. As in the patch description of 6861428921b5 ("block: always define BIO_MAX_PAGES as 256"), THP swap should use multi-page bvec to write THP to swap space. So the issue is fixed via doing that in get_swap_bio(). BTW: I remember I have checked the THP swap code when 6861428921b5 ("block: always define BIO_MAX_PAGES as 256") was merged, and thought the THP swap code needn't to be changed. But apparently, I was wrong. I should have done this at that time. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190624075515.31040-1-ying.huang@intel.com Fixes: 6861428921b5 ("block: always define BIO_MAX_PAGES as 256") Signed-off-by: "Huang, Ying" <ying.huang@intel.com> Reviewed-by: Ming Lei <ming.lei@redhat.com> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com> Cc: Daniel Jordan <daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com> Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--mm/page_io.c7
1 files changed, 2 insertions, 5 deletions
diff --git a/mm/page_io.c b/mm/page_io.c
index 2e8019d0e048..189415852077 100644
--- a/mm/page_io.c
+++ b/mm/page_io.c
@@ -29,10 +29,9 @@
static struct bio *get_swap_bio(gfp_t gfp_flags,
struct page *page, bio_end_io_t end_io)
{
- int i, nr = hpage_nr_pages(page);
struct bio *bio;
- bio = bio_alloc(gfp_flags, nr);
+ bio = bio_alloc(gfp_flags, 1);
if (bio) {
struct block_device *bdev;
@@ -41,9 +40,7 @@ static struct bio *get_swap_bio(gfp_t gfp_flags,
bio->bi_iter.bi_sector <<= PAGE_SHIFT - 9;
bio->bi_end_io = end_io;
- for (i = 0; i < nr; i++)
- bio_add_page(bio, page + i, PAGE_SIZE, 0);
- VM_BUG_ON(bio->bi_iter.bi_size != PAGE_SIZE * nr);
+ bio_add_page(bio, page, PAGE_SIZE * hpage_nr_pages(page), 0);
}
return bio;
}