aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/init
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>2019-03-11 23:30:20 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2019-03-12 10:04:02 -0700
commitf5c7310ac73ea270e3a1acdb73d1b4817f11fd67 (patch)
treed19aea85e65218534d418466922d73d1847bee24 /init
parentf655f40537916d4b1d6d1a023a778697c75a4fe2 (diff)
downloadlinus-f5c7310ac73ea270e3a1acdb73d1b4817f11fd67.tar.gz
linus-f5c7310ac73ea270e3a1acdb73d1b4817f11fd67.tar.xz
linus-f5c7310ac73ea270e3a1acdb73d1b4817f11fd67.zip
init/main: add checks for the return value of memblock_alloc*()
Add panic() calls if memblock_alloc() returns NULL. The panic() format duplicates the one used by memblock itself and in order to avoid explosion with long parameters list replace open coded allocation size calculations with a local variable. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1548057848-15136-18-git-send-email-rppt@linux.ibm.com Signed-off-by: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Christophe Leroy <christophe.leroy@c-s.fr> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net> Cc: Dennis Zhou <dennis@kernel.org> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Greentime Hu <green.hu@gmail.com> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org> Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@pku.edu.cn> Cc: Guo Ren <guoren@kernel.org> Cc: Guo Ren <ren_guo@c-sky.com> [c-sky] Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com> Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com> [Xen] Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com> Cc: Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com> Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu> Cc: Paul Burton <paul.burton@mips.com> Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com> Cc: Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org> Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org> Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk> Cc: Stafford Horne <shorne@gmail.com> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'init')
-rw-r--r--init/main.c26
1 files changed, 20 insertions, 6 deletions
diff --git a/init/main.c b/init/main.c
index c86a1c8f19f4..598e278b46f7 100644
--- a/init/main.c
+++ b/init/main.c
@@ -373,12 +373,20 @@ static inline void smp_prepare_cpus(unsigned int maxcpus) { }
*/
static void __init setup_command_line(char *command_line)
{
- saved_command_line =
- memblock_alloc(strlen(boot_command_line) + 1, SMP_CACHE_BYTES);
- initcall_command_line =
- memblock_alloc(strlen(boot_command_line) + 1, SMP_CACHE_BYTES);
- static_command_line = memblock_alloc(strlen(command_line) + 1,
- SMP_CACHE_BYTES);
+ size_t len = strlen(boot_command_line) + 1;
+
+ saved_command_line = memblock_alloc(len, SMP_CACHE_BYTES);
+ if (!saved_command_line)
+ panic("%s: Failed to allocate %zu bytes\n", __func__, len);
+
+ initcall_command_line = memblock_alloc(len, SMP_CACHE_BYTES);
+ if (!initcall_command_line)
+ panic("%s: Failed to allocate %zu bytes\n", __func__, len);
+
+ static_command_line = memblock_alloc(len, SMP_CACHE_BYTES);
+ if (!static_command_line)
+ panic("%s: Failed to allocate %zu bytes\n", __func__, len);
+
strcpy(saved_command_line, boot_command_line);
strcpy(static_command_line, command_line);
}
@@ -770,8 +778,14 @@ static int __init initcall_blacklist(char *str)
pr_debug("blacklisting initcall %s\n", str_entry);
entry = memblock_alloc(sizeof(*entry),
SMP_CACHE_BYTES);
+ if (!entry)
+ panic("%s: Failed to allocate %zu bytes\n",
+ __func__, sizeof(*entry));
entry->buf = memblock_alloc(strlen(str_entry) + 1,
SMP_CACHE_BYTES);
+ if (!entry->buf)
+ panic("%s: Failed to allocate %zu bytes\n",
+ __func__, strlen(str_entry) + 1);
strcpy(entry->buf, str_entry);
list_add(&entry->next, &blacklisted_initcalls);
}